Final CD Reviews of the Year; Alison Kraus & Lucinda Williams

Alison Kraus: A Hundred Miles Or More: A Collection

Okay, I am a bit slow to learning about Alison Kraus. I enjoyed her performance with Robert Plant on “Raising Sand” and have been checking out her previous releases. I discovered that this release came out earlier this year. Alison has a voice sent from Heaven. “Simple Love” and the emotional “Jacob’s Dream” are outstanding. “Down To The River To Pray” is from “Oh Brother, Where Art Thou” and familiar. The two duets with John Waite are hit and miss. “Lay Down Beside Me” is a hit, but we did not need to remake of “Missing You”. All is all, this is a solid release and pleasing to the ears. It does seem a bit unfinished, which is why I am not rating it higher.
8 out of 10

Lucinda Williams- West

A great way to end my year of reviews. I have heard of Lucinda previously, but have never gotten any of her CD’s. I am quite pleased with this purchase. Her vocal styling is throaty and her music evokes feeling. If you remember what I like, then you know already that this is my kind of music. This has also been a year when my taste in music has gone a bit more country then ever before. Lucinda’s music is labeled as country, but if this is country, then I need some boots and a cowboy hat. Favorites here are “Learning How To Live”, “Where Is My Love” and “Are You Alright”. If it was not for the insufferable rap like “Wrap My Head Around That”, I would be giving this release my top rating, but I cannot with that song. Don’t get me wrong, this is a fantastic CD and one song does not ruin it for me, I will just skip that song on my shuffle.
9 out of 10

~ by thedark2 on December 2, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
