Best CD’s of 2007: 1-5

Without further ado, here are my top 5 CD’s for 2007. This was a great year for the kind of music I like (Blues, Soul, Country, Rock) and they all seemed to blend together well. I listened to more Country music this year than ever before and I am happy to say that good old Soul music is making a strong comeback. I hope you can check some of these out if you have not already. Each of these top five have brought joy to my life in one way or another, which is all you can ever ask for from music.

5. Ruthie Foster: The Phenomenal Ruthie Foster

Ruthie is phenomenal! I keep going back to this CD and am never disappointed. She has an outstanding voice and sings songs that are real. I originally gave this CD a 9, but soon changed it to a 10 to correct the error of my ways. This is one of those CD’s that gets better with each listen.

4. Amos Lee: Supply And Demand

Every time a song from this CD comes up on our playlist, I have to stop and give it a closer listen. It is one of those releases that gets your attention. It does not bang you over the head, but instead is smooth and a delight to hear. This is the second release for Amos Lee and he seems to be getting better. I hope the trend continues.

3. The Gourds: Noble Creatures

Have you heard of the The Gourds? I had not until I heard them on the Austin Riffs podcast. The first time I heard “Promenade”, I was hooked. This is easily one of the best songs of the year. “Steeple Full of Swallows” is another gem from this release that will have you going back for multiple listens. Give yourself a present this year and check out this CD. You will be thanking yourself if you do.

2. Jackie Payne Steve Edmonson Band: Master of the Game

I dare you to listen to this CD and not enjoy yourself. This is actually a 2006 release, but it was from late October in 2006 and I did not get this until early in 2007. This is a fun CD that will keep you dancing. Turn your friends on to this release. Unless they are a Blues fan, they probably will not have heard of these guys, but will be asking you later where to get more like it. It does not get much better than this.

1. JJ Grey & Mofro: Country Ghetto

The only CD I ever gave an 11 to. Not everyone will agree with me on this and I recognize that this is a personal decision. There are songs on this CD that speak directly to me and where I have been this year in my life. Music like that only comes around every once in a while. I had not heard of JJ Grey & Mofro prior to this year, but I will be looking for more in the future. This is country rock with songs that all evoke feeling. I had no problem choosing which release to pick for this years top choice as it could have been no other. Thanks to JJ Grey for your wonderful insights. I will leave you with the lyrics to one of the songs from this CD which will hopefully uplift you as we move into 2008.

The Sun Is Shining Down

How many more days can you hold out
How much longer can you wait she asked
There was a time I thought I, I could answer
But my tongue gets tied as my thoughts drift away

Glory, Glory – Hallelujah
The sun is shining, shining down
Glory, Glory – Hallelujah
I’m alive and I’m feeling, feeling fine

All those simple thoughts all those peaceful dreams
Share the space with a hard worked, hard worked day
But it’s the little things, the little things not expectation
That make life worth living, worth living

Glory, Glory – Hallelujah
The sun is shining, shining down
Glory, Glory – Hallelujah
And the world Lord, world is fine

Glory, Glory – Hallelujah
The sun is shining, shining down
Glory, Glory – Hallelujah
I’m alive and I’m feeling Lord, feeling, feeling, feeling fine

~ by thedark2 on December 6, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
