CD Reviews

I have been a bit remiss on this subject as of late and hope to make it better here. I don’t have time to do complete reviews, so I will link to other reviews and then make some comments afterward along with my rating.

Anders Osborne-Coming Down

Review at Blueswax.
Okay, now this review is a little over the top. Giving this a ten is more than I will give it, but overall, I think this is a good release.
7 out of 10

Aretha Franklin- Rare & Unreleased Recordings from the Golden Reign of the Queen of Soul

Review at the Orlando Weekly.

This review hits the nail on the head. This is an amazing release and not to be missed by any soul or Aretha fan.
10 out of 10

The Black Crowes-Warpaint
Review-Rolling Stone

I am pretty much aligned with this review. This is a solid release and better than expected.
8 out of 10

The Counting Crows-Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings

Review-Rolling Stone
Again, I am fairly aligned with this review. Not their best, but okay.
7 out of 10


Lizz Wright- The Orchard

Review- The Sacramento Bee (about three quarters down)
This review does not do Ms. Wright justice. She is an incredible talent that should not be missed. Her voice is heaven sent.
9 out of 10

Paul Thorn- A Long Way From Tupelo

Review- SF Gate

This CD is good, but not as good as this reviewer makes it to be. Definitely a over hype, but still worth a listen.
8 out of 10

Van Morrison-Keep It Simple

Review- SF Gate

Unfortunately, this review is right on. I was expecting something more along the lines of Magic Time, and this is not that. Van is still good, but not great here. I have come to expect greatness, so excuse my disappointment.
7 out of 10

~ by thedark2 on March 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
