CD Reviews: Catch Up Time

Time has been short, but the music has been good. I apologize for not have more regular and lengthy reviews, but this is the best I can do at the moment.


Vampire Weekend

I bought into the hype as was not that impressed. Forgettable at best.
6 out of 10


Joe Cocker- Hymn For My Soul

Pretty much what I would expect from Joe. Solid and I do like “Long As I See The Light”, but his rendition adds nothing to the original.
7 out of 10


Michael Burks- Iron Man

Well, he certainly was topical with his title. This is in the Blues category, but definitely has an edge and is guitar driven.
7 out of 10


Peter Gabriel- Big Blue Ball

This is a bit uneven and all over the place, but I think he wanted it that way. World music here and there are a few gems, but you have to put up with some other stuff you may not like. Not a traditional Peter Gabriel release.
7 out of 10


Jeff Healey- Mes of Blues

Jeff left us too soon as he just gave us this return to the Blues. Only Jeff can do remakes of “The Weight” and “Like a Hurricane” and make them sound a bit different and good. Not his best release, but a must have only to remember his talents by.
7 out of 10


Tift Merritt- Another Country

This does not measure up to her two prior releases. I was looking for more here and it did not deliver. I will say that through some time (I have had this CD for a few months now) I have grown to appreciate it a little more, but I will still listen to her previous material first.
7 out of 10


Jack Johnson-Sleep Through The Static

My wife “made” me get this and it was my first Jack Johnson CD. I was surprised and not disappointed. The pace is mellow, but I find that we put this on a lot on Sunday mornings and we just go with the flow. The songs can blend together after a while, but since they are not hitting you over the head, it’s okay.
8 out of 10


North Mississippi All Stars- Hernando

This CD is fun. How can you not like “I’d Love To Be A Hippy”. This CD rocks and will serve you well at any party.
8 out of 10


James Hunter-The Hard Way

My expectations were way high for this release and I have to say I was a bit disappointed. If you wanted more of his previous release “People Gonna Talk”, then you got it here. Don’t get me wrong, I loved that release and I like this too, but I liked his previous release so much that I wanted even more.
8 out of 10


Janiva Magness- What Love Will Do

Janiva just keeps getting better. You can see her maturity on the cover and hear it in her songs. This lady SINGS! You will want to hear “I Want A Love”, “Sometimes You Got To Gamble” and “One Heartache Too Late”. This is an excellent CD and should be part of your collection. Easily one of the best this year.
9 out of 10


Amos Lee- Last Days At The Lodge

WOW! Another artist that keeps getting better with each release and that is hard to do based upon his past work. One listen to “Won’t Let Me Go” and you will be hooked. I read some one who said he sounded like Bob Dylan. Bob Dylan never SOUNDED this good. Like Janiva, this guy can sing. This CD will be up there for my top release of the year and I can’t wait until I get to see him in late August.
10 out of 10

~ by thedark2 on July 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
