CD Reviews- The Next 5

I told you I was behind.


Kings of Leon- Only By The Night

I had no idea who these guys were a few months ago. I don’t normally listen a lot to “alternative” music, but this group caught my ear with their mix of southern rock. “Sex on Fire” is the single here and a solid song. I also like “Use Somebody” and “Revelry”. This CD is moody which, if you have read my reviews in the past, know I like.
8 out of 10


Eddy “The Chief” Clearwater- West Side Strut

Another artist I did not know much about previous to this CD. Eddy has been around for a while, so I guess it is just my not being up with the times. This is a solid CD from an experienced Chicago Blues artist. “They Call Me The Chief” has to be the centerpiece here, but this CD has many other outstanding tracks. This was produced by Ronnie Baker Brooks.
8 out of 10


Kenny Neal- Let Life Flow

Are you looking for something up beat and life affirming? Check out this CD. Kenny has lived though quite a lot and has come through it all a wiser man. “Let Life Flow” and “You’ve Got To Hurt Before You Heal” come from someone who has lived these songs. Again, this is how I like my music, with feeling, and this CD from Kenny is dripping with feeling.
9 out of 10


Joe Bonamassa- Live From Nowhere in Particular (Live)

If you are looking for Blues, this is not the CD for you. This is classic rock for a new generation. Joe is the Jimmy Page of his day and lets it all hang out in this outstanding live CD. If you know Joe from his previous Cd’s, you will know these songs and appreciate his live interpretations. If you are new to Joe, be ready to rock out.
9 out of 10

Elvin Bishop- The Blues Rolls On

Every time I think time has passed Elvin Bishop by, he comes up with another outstanding release. In this CD, he is joined by Kim Wilson, John Nemeth, Angela Strehli, BB King, Tommy Castro and Ronnie Baker Brooks among others. This is a solid Blues CD that showcases Elvin with his guitar at its best. The finest compliment I can give this CD is that it is fun to listen to and would give any party a jump start.
9 out of 10

~ by thedark2 on October 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
