Best CD’s of 2008

Well, here we are again at the end of another year. It has been a very good year for music, at least the kind I like. What you will find here is a combination of Blues, Rock, Soul, Funk and a little Country. This is MY list. I do not pretend to think anyone else might like what I like, but if you do, then we have something in common. We will all see a lot of lists at the end of the year trying to make you think you are missing something if you do not like what the reviewer likes. I do not pretend to know so much. I know what I like, and that is where this list comes from. Hopefully, you can find some nuggets here that will spark your interest.

I like to list the criteria I use to make this list to help any reader better understand where I am coming from.

1. The release had to come out this year. In some cases in the past, I have made some exceptions for releases that came out in the last quarter of the previous year. After all, I cannot get to everything or have the budget for everything. As it works out this year, everything on this list came out in 2008.

2. I have to own the release. I will not review anything I have not listened to several times at least. I am lucky in that I get to listen to music most of my day while I am working. Those that are at or close to the top of this list are CD’s that have penetrated my subconscious and I have an emotional connection with.

That’s pretty much it for criteria. Instead of grabbing album art and links like I have in the past, you can go to the “music” tag on the left of this site and read my individual reviews and follow links if you would like.

This year, I am excited to list John Hiatt’s “Same Old Man” as my top pick for 2008. Again, this will not be everybody’s choice, but for me, John is an excellent songwriter and this is one of his most personal works to date. I can very much relate to this CD and it has become a favorite for my wife and I. What more can I say about Amos Lee and JJ Grey? If you have not checked out either of these artists, you are missing a lot. Susan Tedeschi has come through with another top notch effort and Janiva Magness just keeps getting better.

So without any further ado, here is my top 30 CD list for 2008.

1.John Hiatt-Same Old Man
2.Amos Lee-Last Days At The Lodge
3.JJ Grey & Mofro-Orange Blossoms
4.Susan Tedeschi-Back To The River
5.Javina Magness-What Will Love Do
6.Sonny Landreth-From The Reach
7.Buddy Guy-Skin Deep
8.Robin Rogers-Treat Me Right
9.Daniella Cotton-Rare Child
10.Moreland & Arbuckle-1861
11.Liz Wright-The Orchard
12.Al Green-Lay It Down
13.Eddy Clearwater-East Side Strut
14.Kenny Neal-Let Life Flow
15.Emmylou Harris-All I Intended To Be
16.Kings of Leon-Only By The Night
17.Vargas Blues Band-Flamenco Blues Experience
18.Marcia Ball-Peace Love & BBQ
19.Joe Cocker-Hymn for My Soul
20.Elvin Bishop-The Blues Rolls On
21.Joe Bonamassa-Live From Nowhere in Particular
22.Eric Lindell-Low On Cash, Rich In Love
23.Jack Johnson-Sleep Through The Static
24.North Mississippi All Stars-Hernando
25.The Homemade Jamz Blues Band-Pay Me No Mind
26.Steve Winwood-Nine Lives
27.Queen + Paul Rodgers-Rock The Cosmos
28.Michael Burks-Iron Man
29.Tab Benoit-Night Train To Nashville
30.Gary Moore-Bad For You Baby

A couple of notables that came out in 2007 and would have made the top list of last year if I had heard them.

Aretha Franklin-Rare & Unreleased
Levon Helm-Dirt Farmer
Ronnie Earl-Hope Radio

I hope you enjoy this list and I look forward to any feedback you may have in regards to my selections. I can’t wait for 2009 to see what it will bring.

~ by thedark2 on December 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
