CD’s 2008- Two Late Additions and Updated Top CD’s of 2008 List

I know I already did my top Cd’s for the year, but I just got these two are they should be included. I will review first and they give you my updated list.


Roy Roberts- It’s Only You

Man this guy is smooth. I first head him a few years ago with “Sicily Moon” and this release is a good follow up. I think this would fit best under a Blues/Soul category, but however you look at this, it is good. Some of my favorites are “Cheerwine”, “The Rain Was Falling” and the title cut. If you have not had an opportunity to hear Roy yet, this CD would be a good place to start.
9 out of 10


EG Knight-It’s Hot In Here

I had seen this CD on quote a few Blues charts this year and now I know why. It took me a couple of listens to fully appreciate this CD, but now I love it. If you like some gritty southern Blues that has a touch of Phoebe Snow in the vocals, give this release a try. “I’m New At This” is an excellent song along with “Rose and Promises” and a remake of the great “House of the Rising Sun”. In addition EG is a fantastic guitar player and lays down some fine licks on this CD. Try this one out as a holiday present to yourself and you will not be disappointed.
9 out of 10

And now, my updated top CD list of 2008

1. John Hiatt-Same Old Man
2. Amos Lee-Last Days At The Lodge
3. JJ Grey & Mofro-Orange Blossoms
4. Susan Tedeschi-Back To The River
5. Javina Magness-What Will Love Do
6. Sonny Landreth-From The Reach
7. Buddy Guy-Skin Deep
8. Robin Rogers-Treat Me Right
9. Daniella Cotton-Rare Child
10. Moreland & Arbuckle-1861
11. Liz Wright-The Orchard
12. Al Green-Lay It Down
13. Eddy Clearwater-East Side Strut
14. Kenny Neal-Let Life Flow
15. Emmylou Harris-All I Intended To Be
16. Roy Roberts-It’s Only You
17. EG Knight-It’s Hot In Here
18. Kings of Leon-Only By The Night
19. Vargas Blues Band-Flamenco Blues Experience
20. Marcia Ball-Peace Love & BBQ
21. Joe Cocker-Hymn for My Soul
22. Elvin Bishop -The Blues Rolls On
23. Joe Bonamassa-Live From Nowhere in Particular
24. Eric Lindell-Low On Cash, Rich In Love
25. Jack Johnson-Sleep Through The Static
26. North Mississippi All Stars-Hernando
27. The Homemade Jamz Blues Band-Pay Me No Mind

~ by thedark2 on December 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
