A Few Days Away

My wife and I just got back from taking a few days away. We went down to San Francisco together and had a wonderful time. Our 18 year old took care of our 5 year old with a little help from his brother and sister, so all was taken care of on the home front. We stayed down by Fisherman’s Warf, but spent most of our time walking around North Beach and Chinatown. We had some excellent meals (the veal scallopini I had on Wednesday night was amazing!) and helped boost the economy by buying some local fare. Chinatown is a little too hectic for me, but my wife seems to love the markets. We did notice that foot traffic was way down by the Warf. A lot of folks are staying home and not traveling and the merchants are feeling the pain.

The highlight of our trip for me was Thursday night. We went to dinner at Lou’s on the Warf which is also a Blues club. It is a two story building with the restaurant on the bottom and the club on the second level. After dinner, we took a little walk and came back after I had purchased a fine cigar. We sat out front and enjoyed a couple of adult beverages while I smoked my cigar. It has been a while since I have had one, so it was very enjoyable. Inside, The Jackie Payne and Steve Edmonson Band was playing. From where I was sitting, I could see the sax and guitar player through the window and we could hear the music perfectly. The band was on and we loved everything they played, but especially liked their verson on “How Can You Mend A Broken Heart”. After a while, a Dutch couple sat next to us and we had an enjoyable conversation. Johan even got out his harmonica and played along with the music. All in all, it was very enjoyable. When the evening was done, we were only a few blocks from our room and had a nice walk back.

I would be remiss in not mentioned that while we were away Koko Taylor passed away. She left her mark of this genre and will be sorely missed. Giants like her do not come along often and she can never be replaced.

~ by thedark2 on June 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
