Movie Review-Ponyo

For anyone who knows me, I am not a big fan of movies today. So many things to dislike about the industry. I think self importance is on the top of my list, but I would also include the lack of being able to tell a story and going for the cheap thrill instead of fleshing out a character. Like I said, so much to dislike, but that is not what I am here today.

Today, I was looking for something to do with my five year old son and came across Ponyo. when we saw the commercials for it, he was excited and I thought I was biting the bullet by going with him to a screening today. I could not have been more wrong. The movie is full of lush images that will remain with you for along time. A simple story about a young boy who finds a fish who turns into a little girl. The movie is about innocence, childhood and love. I cannot say enough about the incredible interaction between the story and the animation. Even if you are not a fan of movies like this, you may want to give it a try as it is well worth your time and well earned dollars. I will post a few prints from the movie below to give you a feel for the treat you will be in for if you check this movie out.

~ by thedark2 on August 16, 2009.

One Response to “Movie Review-Ponyo”

  1. I am not a cartoon fan but your review tells me that cartoons can convey a story as well as any other art form.

Leave a Reply

 
