Carolyn Wonderland

My wife and I went to see Carolyn Wonderland on Saturday night at a wonderful local club here in town, Harlows. I was a little afraid the show might be a little loud for my wife as this is a small club and Carolyn can play a mean guitar. I am glad I took the chance. We both had a great time and enjoyed an incredible musical performance by Ms. Wonderland. She is an incredible talent and I would recommend you check her out if she comes to your town. She seemed to get better with each shot of tequila (okay, it was only two, but something you do not see every day). Her brand of blues is guitar driven , but she has an excellent voice that can remind you of Janis Joplin at times. Make no mistake though, she is a musician in her own right and earned the standing ovation she received at the end.

At one point during the show, a couple of young women who arrived late and were obviously there for the club rather than the show turned to my wife and I and asked who was playing. There had no idea of who Carolyn Wonderland was and even asked if she plays a lot locally. I let them know that Carolyn is from Austin Texas and that we were lucky to be seeing her that night. After that, they were inquiring about her CD’s and which I would recommend. Obviously, Carolyn had won over a couple of converts with her outstanding performance.

Sacramento Press / Sactown Rundown – Aug. 26-Sept. 1.

~ by thedark2 on August 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
